Liturgical Seasons

The Catholic Church has adopted an annual liturgical calendar that begins with the season of Advent, a time of preparation for both the celebration of Jesus’ birth and his expected coming at the end of time.

The Christmas Season begins Christmas Eve and ends with the celebration of the Baptism of Jesus. The Season of Lent, the time of purification and repentance, begins with the celebration of Ash Wednesday and continues through Holy Thursday and the Triduum (Good Friday, Holy Saturday and Easter Sunday). The Triduum recalls Jesus’ Last Supper with his disciples, his death on the cross, burial and resurrection. The Easter Season lasts 7 weeks, ending with Pentecost, when the Holy Spirit descended upon the disciples after Jesus’ Ascension. The rest of the Liturgical year is called Ordinary or “common” Time. There are two sessions, the first falls between the Baptism of Jesus and Ash Wednesday; the longer period, from Pentecost to the First Sunday of Advent. Christ’s earthly ministry is the focus of the readings during Ordinary Time.