Father Dempsey's Dinner Program

Fr. Dempsey's Dinner Program is a unique, simple and personable opportunity to serve the St. Louis Community.

The partnership between Chaminade and Fr. Dempsey's started in 2008 when the Chaminade community committed to serving a hot, healthy and fulfilling meal every Saturday at Fr. Dempsey's Charities.

Families volunteer to provide a meal for the men that live at Fr. Dempsey's. The families gather at Fr. Dempsey's on Saturdays at 3:00 pm to begin preparing and cooking dinner. Dinner is served at 4:30 pm to the men and volunteers are finished cleaning by 6:00 pm.

When purchasing the meal, we plan on having 40 men for dinner. The meal will consist of a vegetable (salad), one or two sides, a main course and dessert. The coffee, tea and lemonade are all provided. A representative from Chaminade or Fr. Dempsey's will be there to help the family around the kitchen. A meal of this size will cost approximately $100. Some families will go in with another family to share the experience and cost.

This is a great opportunity for students and families to experience Christian service. Below you will find both a volunteer schedule and online form to request a time to provide dinner.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Mr. Dave McCoy at 314-993-4400 x1224 or Mr. Errol Christian at 314-993-4400 x1250.

Fr. Dempsey's is located at:
3427 Washington
St. Louis, MO 63103
Phone: 314-535-7221

It is located around the corner from the Fox Theater.

Fr. Dempsey's Charity, a brief history:

Since 1906, Father Dempsey's Charities has provided transitional housing and a safe place to give a fresh start to men without a home. "Our home was founded as a hotel for working men by Father Tim Dempsey, a charismatic and big-hearted priest who wanted to create 'a decent home for men who want to be decent,'" says Martie Aboussie, the agency's executive director. "Today, our agency gives residents a place to live and help with daily nourishment, finding a job, obtaining needed medical treatment, and accessing government benefits available due to military service, age, or disability," he adds.

Volunteers Needed:

We are accepting volunteers for the 2017-18 School Year!
Please complete the volunteer form below to RSVP.

Fr. Dempsey’s Dinner Schedule Calendar:

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Feb 24
Mon, Feb 25
Tue, Feb 26
Wed, Feb 27
Thu, Feb 28
Fri, Mar 1
Sat, Mar 2
Sun, Mar 3
Mon, Mar 4
Tue, Mar 5
Wed, Mar 6
Thu, Mar 7
Fri, Mar 8
Sun, Mar 10
Mon, Mar 11
Tue, Mar 12
Wed, Mar 13
Thu, Mar 14
Fri, Mar 15
Sat, Mar 16
Sun, Mar 17
Mon, Mar 18
Tue, Mar 19
Wed, Mar 20
Thu, Mar 21
Fri, Mar 22
Sat, Mar 23
Sun, Mar 24
Mon, Mar 25
Tue, Mar 26
Wed, Mar 27
Thu, Mar 28
Fri, Mar 29
Sun, Mar 31
Mon, Apr 1
Tue, Apr 2
Wed, Apr 3
Thu, Apr 4
Fri, Apr 5

Father Dempsey Volunteer Form